More Filipino NPAs Surrender to Government

Since President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo raised the payment for every surrendered firearms from P18,000 to P50,000 in March 2007, more and more members of the New People’s Army (NPA) — both active and inactive — have returned to the folds of the law, the Philippine Army (PA) said Tuesday.

Based on PA’s latest record, Army spokesman Lt. Col. Romeo Brawner noted that from Oct. 26, 2008 to Nov. 10, some 21 rebels surrendered.

The oldest was Martiniano Olivo y Flores, 55 years old and the youngest were Rene Lagmas y Francisco and Michael S. Tubo, both 19 years old.

Flores was a former assistant squad leader of Squad 1 of the defunct Front Guerilla Unit (FGU), Central Visayas Regional Party Committee (CVRPC). He laid low in 2001 due to illness.

Francisco, on the other hand, was the vice squad leader of 2nd squad, Sangguniang Yunit Pampropaganda (SYP), Aurora Unit Provincial Committee (AUPCOM); while Tubo was a member of Team Baking, SYP 1, Front Committee (FC) 33, Southern Mindanao Regional Committee (SMRC).

The highest ranking NPA surrenderor is Panda S. Macabada alias Commander Haj Omar, deputy brigade command of 212th Brigade, 101st Base Command, Bangsamoro Islamic Armed Forces (BIAF), Moro Islamic Liberation Front.

Next is Gilbert Bactol y Canega alias Brix, a former Supply and Logistics officer of Squad Abe, Iraq Platoon, Northern Leyte Front (NLF), Eastern Visayas Regional Party Committee (EVRPC); Manuel Francisco alias Demok, vice squad leader, Abe squad, RUC, Northern Samar Provincial Party Committee (NSPPC); and Jomae Esteves y Oliveros alias Jepoy/Elmo, 27, vice squad leader of 2nd squad, SYP Central, AUPCOM.

The following are the NPA surrenderors and the group they belong to:

-Alexander Casal y Davao alias Alex/Nards/Tagalog, 30; SDG, FC 34, SMRC. He has been with the NPA for 16 years;

-Christopher Doloso Y Viña alias rodel, 31, Komite Seksyon sa Platun (KSPN) 2, Kilusang Larangang Gerilya (KLG);

-Aguinaldo Matino Masaglang alias Demsit, 24, 1st squad Mazda, FC 71, Far South Mindanao Region (FSMR);

-Rolando Abila Anselma alias George, 28, SYP Central, AUPCOM;

-Roland Marzan y Dabo alias Erick, 40, a semi-legal organizer of the Rebolusyonaryong Hukbong Bayan (RHB) Pampanga Command under Ariel Atienza alias Kim/Julian;

-Augusto Liwagan Oddangi alias Erby, KLG Baggas;

-Biliked B. Sibayan alias Resto, SYP, GF 33, SMRC under alias Emong;

Margalio Yapi alias Witan/ Jiji, GF 33, SMRC; and,

-Jun-jun Untas, MB under FC 21B, North Eastern Mindanao Regional Committee (NEMRC).

The surrenderors came all the way from the provinces of Agusan del Sur, Lanao del Sur, Pampanga, Northern Samar, Leyte, Camarines Sur, Aurora, Kalinga, Quezon, Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Tagum City and Surigao del Sur.

They surrendered to either the commanding officer or an enlisted personnel of an Army unit, or sometimes through a government official.

Jomas Esteves y Oliveros alias Jepoy/Elmo surrendered through Aurora Governor Bellaflor Angara-Castillo.

Leave a Reply

Categorized | Government